National Argon Map      Our Expertise      Facility      Services      Research      Methods      Members      History      Contact Us

National Argon Map

The National Argon Map (NAM) is an AuScope Opportunity Project with ANU and the network of four Australian Argon Laboratories: ANU, Melbourne University, University of Queensland and Curtin University. NAM is providing an opportunity for researchers, students, and industry for 40Ar/39Ar analysis which is financially supported by AuScope.
This opportunity has been well sought after and appreciated by researchers, industries, and students across Australia. We have received requests for Ar/Ar analysis for hundreds of samples in 33 distinctly different project proposals. This opportunity has now reached its capacity and at this stage we are not able to take any further proposals.
The proposals and sample information are available in the list below and projected on map on this link. This information is extensive both in the geological context and the sample characterisation. Associated Ar/Ar data will become available as is suitable for each sample.
We would like to thank all participants who have contributed to this rewarding opportunity.

AuScope National Argon Map

Data for the AuScope NAM will include the new samples from the proposal and sample submissions. AuScope data layers will be added to the NAM as they are completed. The first dataset will be from the TISA (Tennant and Mount Isa) region.

Project Leader and Coordinator

Dr Marnie Forster

T +61-(04)-2560 3412

Chair of the Oversight Panel

Dr. Geoff Fraser

Director, Geochronology & Stratigraphy
Mineral Systems Branch | Minerals, Energy and Groundwater Division
GPO Box 378, Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia

Technical Officer

Mr Davood Vasegh

T +61-(02)-6125 8099

The Australian National Argon Network will be participating in the analysis of the samples. The network includes the Argon facilities at:

  • Australian National University, Research School of Earth Sciences
  • Curtin University, John de Laeter Research Centre
  • The University of Melbourne, School of Earth Sciences
  • The University of Queensland, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences